Branching Out

How do you keep your creative juices flowing? For me I have to constantly be learning something new, figuring out ways of incorporating new hobbies with old hobbies. I’ve always loved the look of blackwork and redwork quilts. I’ve tried my hand at counted cross stitch and was not very successful and assumed I’d have the same results with embroidery.

After spending some much-needed fabric therapy time in Joann’s I was waiting to get my fabric cut. While walking around I ended up down the embroidery isle. I love looking at the kits and books. One book caught my eye, Modern primitive Embroidery by Jennie Baer. This book is full of simple projects and are great for beginners. I’m currently working on a set of dish towels that depict a tree in each season; Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter. So far the Spring towel is finished and I’m making progress on the Autumn towel.

This is the Spring dish towel.

This project is so easy and has inspired many more ideas. Embroidery is very portable and this makes it easy to work on in between classes or when I’m out and about running errands. It is a very therapeutic process as well. There is something soothing about the repetitive motion and something very satisfying about seeing the picture take shape.

Let me know what you think about my progress.Once I get good enough I’ll be making some redwork and blackwork quilts. So stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Branching Out

Leave a Reply

