Creativity Killers

Mustering up enough motivation to sew for 20 minutes a week as been more challenging than I originally thought it was going to be.  I’ve gone down to my sewing room with every intention of sitting down and doing something, anything creative.

The reality has been much different. Once down there I’ve been confronted with the fact that I have a problem, an organization problem. Anyone who has been down to my sewing area knows they are walking into a natural disaster zone. It’s a small space that must house a lot of things, and NOTHING has a home. Add to that, the fact my two-year old son likes to play with my scraps and throw them everywhere, it’s a daunting task when it comes time to clean up.

My Monster

This is one of many reasons my sewing room is a creativity killer. It's hard to stay mad when he's just so darn cute.

I usually put this off for as long as possible. I know, I know, this only makes it worse when the time finally does come, but old habits die hard. We all know that cleaning up isn’t really the fun part anyway. Trying to sew around such a mess and finding what I need is so frustrating I usually end up just not sewing. So I’ve decided that I’m going to start trying really hard to get things organized so my creativity doesn’t suffer and maybe, just maybe I’ll get some sewing done.

Another creativity killer is a new website I’ve become addicted to, pinterest.com. If you haven’t found this website yet, and need to get things done, stay far far away! No, actually you should start your account so I can see what great things you’re finding on the internet that will help me feel more creative.

This is a great place to go and get a false sense of creativity. Unless, unlike me you actually get off the site and try out some of the things you’ve been pinning there. I’ve learned quite a bit about different things that interest me, things to help around the house, activities to do with your kids, great ideas for date nights with your spouse. All of these things you can find on pinterest, along with a host of ideas about quilting and crafting. My problem with this website is the fact that it lets you feel like you’ve been creative when all you’ve been doing for the past couple of hours is sitting in front of your computer NOT accomplishing anything. I’ve fallen into that trap more times than I care to admit. I sit down to find something creative I want to make and end up looking up two hours later and still haven’t accomplished anything but making my to-do list longer.

So once again I set off to renew my motivation to sew for 20 min. a week. Starting after Thanksgiving. A little more procrastination won’t hurt right?

2 thoughts on “Creativity Killers

  1. Great post! I have heard of pintrest. I am waiting for the semester to be over to spend any kind of time getting lost on the website. My husband and I will be getting internet soon, which means I will be able to be on the internet so much more. I just can’t wait to find different crafty ideas. It definitely sounds like it is right up your alley. And as for procrastination in sewing…I think your cutie of a Creativity Killer is worth the delay!

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments « NicoleLGill

Leave a Reply

